boy!! that's right! we are going to, in just a few months, be proud parents of a son...okay, the truth is, we are already proud parents and the baby is not even out yet. we went to the doc yesterday and were so excited to hear our suspicions confirmed. a dear friend (and mother to a little boy) told me that fuzzy tummy=baby boy! because i'm pretty sure there is a forest growing on my stomach, i was really hoping for a boy. i mean, what would all that hair have to say about a girl!? ;) anyway, another friend suggested that i drink a cup of orange juice before i went in for the ultrasound, just to assure that the baby wouldn't sleep through it, so i did. and it worked! oh my goodness-he wiggled around the whole time! the tech was actually getting a little frustrated because she was having such a hard time getting all the pics she needed. she kept beating on my stomach (and overly full bladder!) trying to get him to move where she wanted him. funny, and a bit painful at times! :) afterwards, ryan was telling me that he felt like he pretty much knew what was going on the whole time-could tell what was what (as far as the major body parts-arms, hands, feet-oh the feet are SO cute!). i thought for a while that i was doing pretty good, but at one point, she was taking some close-ups of what turned out to be the stomach and gallbladder (how do they even know these things?!). both of these little organs were black, as opposed to the rest of him being kind of grayish. well, anyway, i was certain we were looking at our precious baby's little face. the black spots looked a lot like eyes to me...i was struggling to see the nose and mouth, but just about had it figured out. i was very close to actually saying something out loud about how cute his little face was. thankfully, i did not and soon after, i saw her type stomach and gallbladder onto the screen, pointing to my baby's "eyes." ryan and i had a good laugh about this later. anyway, we are SYKED about having a boy, and are now working diligently at figuring out the right name for him. so many choices! in fact, last night we went to borders and bought a new baby name book (we had gotten one a while back that was on the sale rack. i was excited about our great deal, but unfortunately the book turned out to be more like a dictionary than a naming book, suggesting names like "seven" and "multiple".. who would name their kid that?!?!). anyway, yesterday we actually finally sold the rest of our electronics collection-our tv, ryan's playstation 3, the games, and all our blu rays. we were thankful that God seems to be providing a little extra for us through our sale. anyway, in exchange, we bought a new book-ryan picked it out and he's sure it's the best (because it says on the front that it is)...so, we are reading through it. we really want a good strong meaningful name. we are open for suggestions, though... ;)
Thursday, November 27, 2008
it's a...
Posted by the smiths at 8:56 AM 3 comments
Wednesday, November 19, 2008
it drives me crazy!
so, i went to a certain little shop yesterday, really just looking for a cup of ice. but, knowing that they probably wouldn't just give me a cup of ice, i decided i better order something...but just so i could actually get a cup of ice, mind you! so, i suffered through a small order of reese's cup ice cream and then asked the dreaded question, "is there any way i could get a cup of ice, too?" as i was asking the cashier this, directly behind her were all sorts of different cups, which gave me some hope. that hope rose quite a bit when the cashier smiled and turned around, as if she were going to fix me a cup of ice. but then, my hopes were quickly dashed when she turned right back around and had a cup the size of my pinky and said, "this is all we have. i could fill up a few of these for you?" right...two pieces of ice in each cup, i'd need like fifteen! and how in the world would i carry that out?!?! so, sadly, i turned her down and took an unwanted cup of ice cream. (okay, so maybe the ice cream was wanted just a wee bit....)
Posted by the smiths at 11:06 AM 1 comments
Tuesday, November 18, 2008
a little of this, a little of that...
Posted by the smiths at 11:16 AM 2 comments
Tuesday, November 11, 2008
oh my!
one of the papers I am working on this week is about the book of Lamentations. what a hard read...
Posted by the smiths at 8:35 PM 0 comments
Labels: is
Monday, November 10, 2008
Wednesday, November 5, 2008
yes, this is about the election
Posted by the smiths at 8:51 PM 5 comments
Tuesday, November 4, 2008
a wee bit stressed
life is quite busy these days. with only six weeks left in my first semester of graduate school, there is tons to do! i have quite a few major papers to do and not enough time to do them (it feels like!). i seem to have this quirky thing about me that is really frustrating when it comes to school work: i work really well when deadlines are hard pressed upon me. the deal is, it's not like i haven't known all semester about all the papers that i need to write. but when i sit down way ahead of time to write, i get no where....no where. i'll try and try and all i do is crappy, and i know it. so, i wait until the week it's due, when i'm really feeling stressed and pressed to get it done, and the results-magnificent! okay, maybe not quite magnificent, but pretty good (and much better than the early works). plus, i am able to get through it a whole lot quicker than if i try to work on it way early. i know, crazy, huh?!? all that to say, the next few weeks are going to be super busy as i try to get everything done!
Posted by the smiths at 11:22 AM 1 comments


